Lumbini Province
Lumbini Province

Welcome to Province 5, the land of Lumbini, located in the western part of Nepal! This region holds immense cultural, historical, and religious significance, making it a must-visit destination for travelers from around the world. Let's explore what makes Province 5, Lumbini, so captivating:

1. Birthplace of Lord Buddha: Lumbini is renowned as the birthplace of Siddhartha Gautama, who later became known as Lord Buddha, the founder of Buddhism. At the heart of Lumbini lies the sacred Lumbini Garden, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, where you can find the Mayadevi Temple, which marks the exact spot where Buddha was born. Pilgrims and visitors come from far and wide to pay their respects and find spiritual solace in this serene and historically significant place.
2. Rich Buddhist Heritage: Besides the birthplace of Buddha, Lumbini is dotted with numerous monasteries, stupas, and shrines constructed by different Buddhist communities from around the world. These beautifully designed structures showcase the diverse architectural styles and artistry of various Buddhist cultures.
3. Peace and Serenity: Lumbini offers an atmosphere of tranquility and peace, making it an ideal destination for meditation and self-reflection. Stroll through the serene gardens, listen to the chanting of monks, and immerse yourself in the spiritual aura of this sacred place.
4. Nearby Attractions: While Lumbini itself is the primary attraction, the region has more to offer. Visit Tilaurakot, the ancient capital of the Shakya kingdom where Buddha spent his early life. Kapilvastu, the capital of the Shakya clan, is also nearby and holds historical importance. Other attractions include the Sagarhawa archaeological site and Devdaha, the birthplace of Buddha's mother, Queen Mayadevi.
5. Cultural Diversity: Province 5 is a melting pot of diverse ethnicities and cultures. The region is home to people from various backgrounds, including Tharu, Magar, Brahmin, Chhetri, and others, each contributing to the region's vibrant tapestry of traditions and customs.
6. Adventure and Nature: While Lumbini is primarily known for its spiritual and cultural significance, the surrounding landscapes offer opportunities for adventure enthusiasts. Explore the nearby national parks like Bardia and Banke for wildlife safaris, birdwatching, and jungle adventures.
7. Warm Hospitality: The people of Province 5 are known for their warm hospitality and welcoming nature. Enjoy the traditional Nepali hospitality and savor the delicious local cuisine.
Province 5, Lumbini, holds a special place in the hearts of many, both for its religious significance and its peaceful ambiance. Whether you seek spiritual enlightenment, cultural exploration, or a tranquil escape, Lumbini welcomes you with open arms. Experience the essence of Buddhism and the allure of this historic region as you journey through Province 5, Lumbini, Nepal.

Disticts in Lumbini Province


  • Name: Province
  • No of Districts:
  • Area: km²
  • Polulations: Approx.
  • Famous for:

Things to do in

Attractions not found